The Newton High School boys’ tennis team put its entire squad on the upper half of the bracket, resulting in a second-place finish at the Ark Valley-Chisholm Trail League Division I Championships at the Phil Scott Tennis Center in Newton and the Marty Ward Tennis Center in North Newton.

Maize won the tournament with 48 points, followed by Newton at 32, Salina Central at 26, Salina South at 24, Derby at 20, Hutchinson at 16 and Campus at 16.

In the singles finals, Brennan Sanders edged Hutchinson’s Garrett Severud 2-6, 6-1, 10-4 tie-breaker. In the doubles finals, Kaden Jobe and Chase Schreiner of Maize downed Joey Wilson and Gavin Allis of Salina South 6-4, 6-2.

In singles play for Newton, Brandon Murrell placed fifth at 3-1 and Pablo Ferrer placed sixth at 2-2. Brandon Murrell downed his teammate 9-6 in the fifth-place match.

In doubles play, Max Karst and Jordan Singh placed fifth at 3-1, losing their quarterfinal match in a third-set tie breaker. Jason Wong and Cody Murrell placed eighth at 1-3. Wong and Cody Murrell also lost in the quarterfinals by a third-set tie breaker.

“I’m really pleased with the performance of our singles players finishing fifth and sixth,” Newton coach Nick Sisson said. “Brandon Murrell lost a close match in a super-breaker. Brandon has two close losses to that guy. I’d like to see if we can turn that around Friday. Pablo was seeded ninth and he finished sixth. He’s put himself in contention to quality for state. Our doubles teams lost in the second round by a super breaker. Max and Jordan played stronger as the day went on. Jason and Cody seemed to slow down a bit in the afternoon. Overall, I’m pleased with how they did.”

Newton hosts the Class 5A regional tournament Friday with Maize, Salina Central, Salina South, Great Bend, Liberal and Valley Center. (Note date change.) The top six finishers in both singles and doubles advance to the state tournament the following weekend at the Kossover Tennis Center in Topeka.

“We’ll come back on Friday and see what we can make out of it,” Sisson said. “We’ll try to qualify as many as we can. It’s going to be tough for anyone to qualify out of our regional. We’re going to try and get everyone in, but they are all going to have to play really well.”

Ark Valley-

Chisholm Tral League

Division I

Tennis Championships


Phil Scott TC,

Marty Ward TC

Team scores — Maize 48, Newton 32, Salina Central 26, Salina South 24, Derby 20, Hutchinson 16, Campus 16.


First round — Garrett Severud H bye; Pablo Ferrer N def. Akass Bhakta SC 6-1, 6-1; Jarrett Bowman D def. Eli Truhe SS 6-2, 6-0; Ethan Pfeifer M def, Caedon Odette C 6-3, 6-1; Brennan Sanders M bye; K.J. Kohlhorst C def. Carson Michaelis SC 1-6, 6-2, 11-9 TB; Carson Harris SS def. Ocon H 6-3, 6-2; Brandon Murrell N def. James Werbin D 6-1, 6-1.

Quarterfinals — Championship: Severud H def. Ferrer N 6-1, 6-2; Pfeifer M def. Bowman D 6-3, 6-1; Sanders M def. Kohlhorst C 6-1, 6-1; Harris SS def. B.Murrell N 6-2, 1-6, 10-5 TB. Consolation: Bhakta SC bye, Odette C def. Truhe SS 9-5, Michaelis SC bye, def. Ocan H def. Werbin D 9-5.

Semifinals — Championship: Severud H def. Pfeifer M 6-3, 7-5; Sanders M def. Harris SS 6-0, 6-3. Fifth-place bracket: Ferrer N def. Bowman D 9-6, B.Murrell N def. Kohlhorst C 9-5. Ninth-place bracket: Bhakta SC def. Odette C 9-2, Michaelis SC def. Ocon H 9-8 (7-5).

Medal round — Championship: Sanders M def. Severud H 2-6, 6-1, 10-4 TB. Third place: Harris SS def. Pfeifer M 0-6, 6-3, 10-5 TB. Fifth place: B.Murrell N def. Ferrer N 9-6. Seventh place: Bowman D def. Kohlhorst C 9-2. Ninth place: Bhakta SC def. Michaelis SC 9-6. 11th place: Odette C def. Ocon H 9-5. 13th place: Werbin D def. Truhe SS 9-5.


First round — Jobe-Schreiner M bye; Beach-Hendrick SC def. Hernandez-Tolbert H 6-4, 6-2; Ohnmeis-Kratzer M def. Talbot-Irwin SS 6-1, 6-0; C.Murrell-Wong N def. Apsley-Page C 6-1, 6-4; Hayes-Foth SC bye; Dunn-Walls D def. Talbert-Chan C 6-2, 6-2; Karst-Singh N def. Schweder-Addis H 6-2, 6-0; Wilson-Aills SS def. Simmoms-Palmer D 7-5, 6-3.

Quarterfinals — Championship: Jobe-Schreiner M def. Beach-Hendrick SC 6-0, 6-0; Ohnmeis-Kratzer M def. C.Murrell-Wong N 6-4, 7-5; Hayes-Foth SC def. Dunn-Wall D 6-4, 6-2; Wilson-Aills SS def. Karst-Singh N 2-6, 6-3, 10-7 TB. Consolation: Hernandez-Tolbert H bye, Apsley-Page C def. Talbott-Irwin SS 9-1, Talbert-Chan C bye, Simmons-Palmer D def. Schweder-Addis H 9-1.

Semifinals — Championship: Jobe-Schreiner M def. Ohnmeis-Kratzer M 6-1, 6-4; Wilson-Aills SS def. Hayes-Foth SC 6-4, 7-5. Fifth-place bracket: Beach-Hendrick SC def. C.Murrell-Wong N 9-5, Karst-Singh N def. Dunn-Walls D 9-6. Ninth-place bracket: Apsley-Page C def. Hernandez-Tolbert H 9-8 (7-3), Simmons-Palmer D def. Talbert-Chan C 9-6.

Medal round — Championship: Jobe-Schreiner M def. Wilson-Aills SS 6-4, 6-2. Third place: Hayes-Foth SC def. Ohnmeis-Kratzer M 6-1, 6-0. Fifth place: Karst-Singh N def. Beach-Hendrick SC 9-2. Seventh place: Dunn-Walls D def. C.Murrell-Wong N 9-1. Ninth place: Simmons-Palmer D def. Apsley-Page C 9-1. 11th place: Talbert-Chan C def. Hernandez-Talbott H 9-5. 13th place: Talbott-Irwin SS def. Schweder-Addis H 9-7.