Day one of the Missouri Valley Conference women’s golf championships saw no rounds under par at Newton’s Sand Creek Station.

Day two saw better weather and four rounds under par.

Championship Tuesday saw even better weather and five scores under par.

Missouri State and Northern Iowa did the best job of taking advantage of the improved conditions to finish 1-2 at the tournament.

Missouri State held the lead for the third straight day to claim the conference title at 887. The Bears finished the tournament with a team round (lowest four scores) of 287, tying a school record for a single round.

Northern Iowa had the best team round of the tournament of 285, moving up four spots to take second at 901. Southern Illinois finished third at 905, followed by Bradley at 909, Illinois State at 914, Loyola-Chicago at 914, Indiana State at 916, Drake at 929, Valparaiso at 953 and Evansville at 961.

“The last month, we’ve been really battling hard and playing well,” Missouri State coach Kevin Kane said. “We’ve been in some pretty tough tournaments. The scores haven’t always been there. I just kept telling them, keep doing what you’re doing. It’s going to pay off. We won this tournament last year and four of the five on this team did this a year ago, and that was huge. The weather get better for us every day. It was a lot better today than it was Sunday.”

The Bears earn a berth to the NCAA Regionals, which begin May 7. Teams will be assigned to regional sites April 25.

“We’ll just go on,” Kane said. “We’ll tee it up and see how it goes.”

Missouri State claimed top medalist honors when junior Rachel Johnson finished the tournament with a five-under 67 for a three-round total of 215, one under par.

Johnson finished the front nine one under par. On the back nine, Johnson hit five birdies to one bogey. She birdied both 17 and 18 to win the tournament by four strokes over Bradley’s Frankie Saban, who led after play Monday.

“I knew I was capable of shooting under par today because I had a lot of missed opportunities the last two days,” Johnson said. “I just wanted to go out there and stay calm the entire time I was out there. I had two bogeys and seven birdies. The key is just hitting it down the fairway. It played pretty short today. We played a course previously that was pretty tight. That was a good warm-up for coming out here. We shot a team score of 287, which ties a team record. I’m so proud of them. We support each other so well. At the beginning of the season, we just weren’t putting all of our scores together. Today, we accomplished that.”

A junior from Anderson, Ind., Johnson wins her first tournament of the season She did finished tied for second at the MVC Preview last fall, also held at Sand Creek Station.

She will play in her second NCAA Regional.

“I’m excited about that,” she said. “There are four sites, so we won’t know where we get to go, but I’m looking forward to it. It’s just another golf course, right? We just have to do the same as we did today.”

Stine Pettersen of Missouri State finished third at 220. Alice Ho of Southern Illinois and Jessie Steed of Loyola tied for fourth at 224.

Verena Gimmy of Missouri State was named MVC Golfer of the Year. Gimmy finished tied for 10th. Kane was named MVC Coach of the Year.

Next up for Sand Creek Station will be the NJCAA Division I, Region VI Men’s Championships Monday and Tuesday. The Summit League Men’s Championships will be April 29 through May 1.

Missouri Valley Conference

Women’s Golf Championships

Sand Creek Station

Par 72, 6,018 yards

Team scores

Missouri State;305-295-287—887

Northern Iowa;320-296-285—901

Southern Illinois;312-291-302—905


Illinois State;319-296-299—914


Indiana State;309-301-306—916





1. Rachel Johnson MSU;75-73-67—215

2. Frankie Saban Brdly;78-68-73—219

3. Stine Pettersen MSU;79-70-71—220

T4. Alice Ho SIU;77-73-74—224

T4. Jessie Staed Loy.;75-74-75—224

T6. Thilda Staubo Ind.St.;75-76-74—225

T6. Moyea Russell SIU;77-75-73—225

T6. Ashley Childers MSU;76-77-72—225

T6. Hannah Bermel NIU;82-73-70—225

T10. Paige VanDyk NIU;85-70-72—227

T10. Kiley Walsh Ill.St.;80-72-75—227

T10. Verena Gimmy MSU;75-75-77—227

T10. Paige Seiser Ill.St.;79-76-72—227

T14. Ally Scaccia Brdly;78-73-77—228

T14. Hanna Netisingha SIU;77-72-79—228

T14. Sophie Benetti Ind.St.;79-75-74—228

T14. Sarah McMichael NIU;79-74-75—228

T18. Maddie Bertsch NIU;80-80-69—229

T18. Madison Glennie Drk.;81-72-76—229

T18. Sierra Hargens Ind.St.;77-73-79—229

Remainder of field

T21. Taylor Ledwein Brdly;82-78-70—230

T21. Morgan Brown Loy.;78-80-72—230

T23. Elayna Bowser Loy.;84-72-75—231

T23. Sigurlaug Run Jonsdottir Drk.;78-74-79—231

T23. Emilyee McGiles SIU;83-71-77—231

T26. Caitlin Sims Ill.St.;78-79-75—232

T26. Emily Snelling NIU;79-79-74—232

T28. Grace Dunn Drk.;81-73-79—233

T28. Chloe Horton Brdly;82-76-75—233

T30. Kayla Krueger Valpo.;75-80-80—235

T30. Erica Kerr SIU;81-76-78—235

T30. Sabrina Hoskins Loy.;79-80-76—235

T33. Katie Willenbrink Valpo.;83-78-75—236

T33. Madison Chaney Evnsv.;76-80-80—236

T33. Alex Jennings Ind.St.;78-79-79—236

36. Sophia Rohleder Evnsv.;87-75-75—237

37. Abby Luchtenburg Ill.St.;82-76-80—238

38. Brooke Thompson Brdly;85-77-77—239

39. Kylie Shoemake Valpo.;79-79-82—240

40. Morgan Savage Ill.St.;92-72-77—241

41. Aimee Gerschke Drk.;81-85-76—242

42. Tiffany Curtis Valpo.;85-80-78—243

43. Kayla Ryan Ind.St.;82-77-85—244

44. Giulia Mallmann Evnsv.;85-86-74—245

T45. Sam Paulak Drk.;77-83-87—247

T45. Bridget Schulte MSU;87-82-78—247

47. Caroline Smith Loy.;78-90-83—251

48. Madison Mccreary Valpo.;85-79-88—252

49. Minka Gill Evnsv.;84-89-81—254

50. Lexie Sollman Evnsv.;92-78-86—256

All-Conference Team

Verena Gimmy, Missouri State

Stine Pettersen, Missouri State

Rachel Johnson, Missouri State

Taylor Ledwein, Bradley

Ally Scaccia, Bradley

Frankie Saban, Bradley

Alice Ho, Southern Illinois

Hanna Netisingha, Southern Illinois

Jessie Staed, Loyola

Elayna Bowser, Loyola

Elite 17 Award Winner — Ashley Childers, Missouri State

Newcomer of the Year — Moyea Russell, Southern Illinois

Golfer of the Year — Verena Gimmy, Missouri State

Coach of the Year — Kevin Kane, Missouri State