OXFORD — The town of Oxford is known for its old mill, which was built in 1874 and is a popular location for photography.

The mill’s grounds are open to the public throughout the week.

A restaurant in the mill is run by the Oxford High School entrepreneurship program and is open for one meal every week. On Sundays from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., guests can visit the restaurant. The meal includes an entree, a salad, dessert and several sides. Each week, the meal changes, and will be announced on the restaurant's Facebook Page. Meals run from $9-12, plus $1 for a beverage.

The mill was built in 1874 by D.N. Cook and John Hewitt. A three-mile race was dug by hand, parallel to the Arkansas River. The water that ran through the mill race provided electricity needed to run the mill.

Charles Champeny took over the mill in 1918. The mill was highly successful, and eventually the mill operation required more space and was moved up from the stream to the street level.

Three generations of the Champeny family continued to work at the mill but finally ceased operations in 1997.

Although the old mill was used to generate power to the new mill building, years of neglect and the elements took their toll. By 1988, third-generation miller Wallace Champeny and friend Hal Ross stepped in to save the old mill, and the restoration was completed in 2000.

Donating countless hours, high school students also have a chance to gain valuable experience while managing the mill restaurant.