Bryan Clauson captured his first Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions win on Tuesday night during round five of Ohio Sprint Speedweek at Sharon Speedway.

Race Results

For the first time in his career, Bryan Clauson earned top honors during Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions competition, scoring round five of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio.

The Noblesville, Indiana, native is the fifth different feature winner during Ohio Sprint Speedweek thus far, leading the last 24 circuits to score the $5,000 top prize. Cap Henry followed Clauson to the finish, followed by Danny Holtgraver, Dale Blaney, and Dean Jacobs.

“We were really good last year when we were here, so I knew we had a really good baseline to start with,” explained Clauson, pilot of the Cancer Treatment Centers of America/Elk Grove Ford/No. 17W. “My guys worked hard on this thing all night. Sometimes we aren’t where we need to be every night, but we keep getting better and better. I just tried to get out front and run as fast as I could.”

Clauson started fourth on the main event grid and raced his way to third after the initial start. Fortunately for Clauson, bad luck struck early leader Chad Kemenah on lap six, resulting in the Hunter Racing entry nearly spinning to the infield in turn four, collecting second place running Caleb Griffith in the process. Clauson inherited the point, followed by Cap Henry and Dean Jacobs.

Green flag action resumed with Clauson showing the way. The recent Indianapolis 500 starter set the pace at the top of the speedway, racing nearly unpressured for the remaining distance. Traffic came into play by the midpoint of the race, allowing Cap Henry and Dean Jacobs to close the gap. Despite heavy traffic increasing by lap 25 of 30, Clauson kept his distance, ultimately becoming the 205th different Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions feature winner in series history.

“I didn’t think I’d win a race during Ohio Sprint Speedweek, so this is pretty cool,” said Clauson. “This is really special. You look at what we did a few nights ago and you’d think we would never be up here. My guys just keep digging and keep working hard. I’m glad to put 30 solid laps together for them tonight and get a win during Ohio Sprint Speedweek.”

The Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will continue the 34th edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket with round six on Wednesday evening, June 22, at the Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe, Ohio. The Arctic Cat All Stars made three attempts to host competition at the Atomic highbanks in 2016, with all three losing to Mother Nature. Dale Blaney earned the 2015 Ohio Sprint Speedweek victory at Atomic Speedway, holding back Cole Duncan and eventual speedweek champion Greg Wilson.